Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

A different kind of journey

drmweaver2

Hey all. I thought I'd give this "range diary" idea a shot.

Where do I start? Well, I'm a relative beginner. I mean I shot when I was in the Army a few decades ago (does that hint at my age?). Mostly that was rifle shooting though I did qualify and plink with pistols a bit. So I have memories of sight pictures and shooting fundamentals... but no serious experience with pistols.

Recent events have led me to purchase a self defense weapon, an S&W SD9VE 9mm. In researching (after the purchase) how to shoot it, I stumbled across this "thing" called competitive shooting, then USPSA and IDPA matches and videos. I saw the link between fun competition and real-world self-defense skills so I began to look for local events. Went and saw my first match this past weekend. I'm hooked even before my first competition. It's a question of getting the basic skills and safety procedures down before I enter a match.

To lower my practice costs, I've also bought a full-sized S&W M&P 22LR semi-automatic. I can do lots of $.05/round 22LR practice as opposed to breaking my bank $.7 or more/round (9mm) training. I'll do some 9mm live fire practice, but much more .22LR live firing and lots of dry firing with the SD9VE.

My goal - pretty simple. To have fun with the competition itself. To shoot each match better than the last. I'm not setting a goal of making Master or Grand master. But the classifiers will end up ranking me inspite of myself. We'll see how that goes.

So, that's where I am - a beginner with a serious budget constraint. I'm probably one of very few herre who isn't ranking-driven.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

First training entry