Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

USPSA - When do you start?

Okay, real beginner here.

My question is simple. At what point should I consider starting to compete at a USPSA/IDPA event?

I'm mediocre at indoor ranges shooting paper targets (mostly bulls) out to about 12 yards. When I say mediocre, I mean my groups are hand/fist-sized with "routine flyers".

I've done NO/ZERO/Nada holster/draw work and the same with movement - the indoor range won't allow and isn't set up for either.

The closest USPSA/IDPA matches/clubs are 60 miles from me. I don't know anyone in any of the clubs for an introduction/first time meetup.

What I "know" about such events comes from some youtube videos and reading a bit about it on various websites.

Edited by drmweaver2

• Replies 111
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Let me put it this way. None of us had any match experience before our first match! My suggestion to you is practice dry firing and dry draws for a while. NO AMMO ANYWHERE NEAR YOU AND THE PISTOL!!!!!!!!! Draw and take a sight picture. Use a target or spot on the wall...whatever. Slowly at first. Practice following the range commands which can be found in the rules section of both organizations web site. Practice reloads. USPSA are easier. IDPA has several different types. Try to find a practice partner to help. See if there are any local clubs that hold practice matches during the week. Also see if they have a beginners class. That should be enough for starters. Shoot a practice match when you feel more comfortable and make sure the RO knows you are new.

Be safe and enjoy

Richard

I'd add that, you'll be surprised on how easy going and accommodating everyone will be.

You'll ask yourself why you didn't go sooner!

If you don't find this to be the case, find another range/club.

Remember, nobody showed up their first time and knew all the rules or was a perfect shot!

Be safe! Take direction from the range officer. Have fun!