Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

ruger precision rifle 6.5 creedmoor optics needed

tannerlc

I have a budget max $2500 for a new scope for my Ruger precision rifle 6.5 creedmoor im new to the PRS and cant make up my mind if i want to get a Vortex Razor GEN 2 4.5-27x56 for about $2400 or start out with the Viper pst 6-24x50 around $900 i would hate to get the viper and wish i had got the razor but i would also hat to spend an extra $1600 on the razor and the viper would have worked. Any advice or recomendations would be greatly appreciated. thanks

If you can afford the Razor II then get it. It's a great optic. I have 3 of them and have had one of the first 4.5-27x on the market and it has never let me down in 2 year and running matches.

You'll never look back after getting good glass, whereas you may end up spending more if the pst doesn't live up to your expectations. They are great scopes but not in the same league as razor glass in clarity (daytime and especially low light) or eye box forgiveness at higher magnifications. As long as you can deal with razor weight and have the budget I'd go that way with no hesitation.

• Sightron SIII SS 8-32x56mm Side Focus Riflescope

Excellent scope for the money. I have it mounted on my 6.5 Creedmoor PRS. I know others are using the same scope out to a 1000

Skip the PST if you have the budget for something better. It is a great scope and would be more than adequate but you will see a huge difference in the $2500 category

I looked at the Razor but was turned off by the weight. Went with a Kahles and could not be happier.

• 2 weeks later...

I have looked through a Burris 5X25 with the SCR reticle on my buddies 308 build and it is really clear and nice. I am not a long range shooter at all and was hitting out to 750ish easily. Seems to be good glass for the money as well.

Definitely a good buy in the sub- $1500 range. Great feature set on that optic.