Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.45 "minor" for Production?

mreed911

Question for the experienced:

I was a police officer for ~5 years (mostly as a reserve, some full-time but now "just" a paramedic, I enjoy being on "the other side" better). During that time I carried and qualified with a Glock 21. I know that gun as if it's a part of my body.

I'm a C-class Single Stack shooter (less than a year in USPSA) who's about to seek a classification in Production and I had a 9mm handgun I'd been working with to start with. Recently, however, I've found a 45 load that meets minimum power factor but is otherwise 'minor,' which isn't a problem since all production is minor. It's Federal's Gold Medal Match, 185gr, 770fps.

Any thoughts on using this for an occasional production match? It's expensive ammo so it's not something I'd be buying but I've got a source to get some as part of a trade deal and it would probably be enough for a match or two. If it worked out well it might be enough to propel me into reloading and working up a similar load at better costs.

Thoughts on "45 minor" vs 9mm?

Edited by mreed911

I’ve shot Production with my G21 for years, I reload, so my cost is low. I have to load to a pf of 150, to get the slide to return correctly. The recoil is less than a 9mm, which is good when your friend Arthur is in both wrist. I use 200 SWC, mainly Bayou Bullets, and some Black Bullets. I love that big hole. I recently had Pike (http://mod1firearms.com) add a Trijicon RMR to my G21 for Carry Optics, and my G19 for Steel and GSSF. The G19 was my EDC for a few months.

Sadly Life gave me a kick in the A$$, and I discoverd I have Neuropathy. It’s not a good idea, to be running with a loaded .45, when you start to lose your balance. So I sold my G19.

I still plan on shooting Steel and GSSF (Open) with my G21. I sent a Certificate to GSSF for another G21, they’re just like a kid, you can’t beat them.

You will enjoy shooting your G21 in Production.