Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Stock 2 light strike question

MilkMyDuds

My Stock 2 has been running 100% reliably until the last range trip where I had 2 light strikes out of 300 rounds. I use 100% Winchester small pistol primers.

The gun has about 3800 rounds on it and a month of daily dry-fire. I do not cut coils on any of the springs. I did the polishing and used mostly Xtreme parts:

- Xtreme light hammer spring

- Xtreme light striker spring

- Xtreme Titan hammer

- Xtreme firing pin

- Xtreme firing pin block and spring

etc.

Could it be the Xtreme light hammer and striker springs can last only this long? What's your experience with them? As I am new to the Tanfo platform, I wouldn't mind learning that these Xtreme springs have short life time, like every 3000 rounds or so. Just need to know and prepare.

Or maybe it's the faulty primers? I have not had any faulty WSP primers ever... But these 2 light strikes, I could not fire them with my carry gun either. So that makes me wonder.

Hi,

my experience is, that after 4.000 - 5.000 rounds the xtreme(or almost every kind of) hammer spings tend to get even lighter(weaker), so i change them every time, when i start to get light strikes.

Or try the medium one... they also become light enough aber 1.000 - 2.000 rounds. But in this case i recommend to use also the medium striker spring from Grauffel.

But maybe, you have to check the length of your firing pin block - maybe it is a little big to long and scratches a little bit against your firing pin ans slows it down just a little bit.

And if your spings get a little bit weaker, this won´t help... neither.

I would question the primer seated depth or the firing pin safety hanging up.

Have you set a "pencil launch" height baseline? I mark da and sa launched heights and check them on detail strip. The heights are dang uniform, if they didn't change...it's not the gun.