Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ambidextrous shooters?

ncrivello

Hi I just started shooting IDPA/USPSA, my 5th match was last weekend. I could use some feedback/tips from those who are ambidextrous.

I've found that I'm ambidextrous when it comes to shooting handguns. Each hand is slightly better at various aspects of the skills needed for practical shooting however. I'm right eye dominant and write left handed. I seem to shoot better with respect to accuracy lefty but right hand is stronger.

I've sometimes switched hands mid-stage as I'm presented with different shooting positions/sequences. Has anybody done this with success? Is it recommended?

I have a Glock 17 and Sig p226 that I've alternated between (SSP/Production). Dry fire practice is helping me to figure out which gun is better from an ergonomics and fire controls perspective. The reloads are tough for me to get below 1.5 sec with either hand on the Glock; whereas with the Sig I can get 1.0-1.2 right handed, add .2-.3 for left hand. The DA trigger is a drawback, but a reduced hammer spring made a huge difference. The Glock seems to transition quicker, but the ergonomics and controls of the 226 are more comfortable both R and L handed. The 226 also has that great SA trigger.. I need to practice draws for both hands with each gun to see which is better before deciding which gun to stick with.

Thoughts from the peanut gallery?

I'm not ambidextrous but I'd guess that picking the hand that feels best and training yourself to work around it will be faster than continuing to switch regularly. I'm interested to see what others have done.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk