Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Carry optics advice. CZ or Glock?

librarian45

So I'm going to start shooting CO and am debating between a glock and (now that the weight limits are raised) a CZ shadow.

I carry a glock 19 w. a RMR daily and I compete in limited with a g35.

Am I giving up anything by staying glock or is the weight/ergo of the shadow enough to validate using it?

I have a shadow and getting the slide milled seems like heresy, but those springer type mounts are just too high.

If I do go glock I've got a g17 and g35 who are both candidates.

I assume the longer sight radius is irrelevant so I should go w/ the 17?

Lastly, am i better of sending it out to get milled or should I just buy a MOS gun?

thanks!

So, I've spent some time in the same boat you're in currently. I picked up a gen 4 glock 34 when I started shooting USPSA because I deployed with glocks regularly and I wanted to stay proficient with the platform. Since then, I've caught my eyes wandering every once in a while towards a CZ or a Tanfoglio or some other new hotness. I keep going back to the glock though. For me, it's about time invested and consistency with platforms across work and play. I recently picked up a Glock 34 MOS and I shot it in my first match this last weekend and I was utterly blown away. I shot production on the first day and I came back the second and shot Carry optics with my MOS set up exactly the same (minus the red dot, of course) and I demolished some of my times that I had put up with a rig that I am VERY familiar with. I was shocked. I guess what I'm trying to say is, I feel like the consistency across divisions outweighs the practical benefits of the heavier CZ as nice as it would be to have one of my own. Also, when I'm shooting production, I have a backup pistol if something were to go catastrophically wrong with my primary production rig. Of course, this is my own opinion and thought process and I'm sure there's plenty to find at fault with it. Good luck