Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cold weather shooting - any tips?

MilkMyDuds

I have noticed in training that during cold weathers my muscles tend to react and move much slower than in Summer. Especially the fingers. For example, Bill Drill I could only manage 2.0 sec in Winter vs. 1.8 in Summer.

I guess a hand warmer would help. What other tips do you have to improve performance in cold weather shooting?

I have noticed in training that during cold weathers my muscles tend to react and move much slower than in Summer. Especially the fingers. For example, Bill Drill I could only manage 2.0 sec in Winter vs. 1.8 in Summer.

I guess a hand warmer would help. What other tips do you have to improve performance in cold weather shooting?

Cold weather in Texas....are you serious.... :roflol::devil:

We have been shooting matches at 30-40 degrees weather for a few times. I did live in Wisconsin for 10 years but I just started shooting a year ago so I did not know if people shoot outdoors during Winter up there. :)

I shoot in the PNW and have been in a couple of competitions in cold (mid-20's) as well as wet (constant rain).

What works for me is to have a couple of sets of the cheap Mechanix gloves (so that they can be changed out if wet) that I wear whiel shooting and zippo lighter fluid based hand warmers. I prefer the lighter fluid ones as they are 1) more consistent heat throughtout the comp; and 2) the disposable types are not consistent from one package to the next.

We have been shooting matches at 30-40 degrees weather for a few times. I did live in Wisconsin for 10 years but I just started shooting a year ago so I did not know if people shoot outdoors during Winter up there. :)

I thought you said 'cold weather'. that sounds pretty pleasant unless it's rainy and windy.