Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

AlphaCharis' PewPew Life

AlphaCharis

Well, it's a new year, guess I should stop procrastinating and just start my range diary.

#pewpew past

I've been shooting USPSA since February 2014. Before USPSA I had only picked up a gun a little over a year before. I started with shooting at my range's Falling Plate matches and then Steel Challenge. What looked really interesting to me was runnin' and gunnin', but I didn't feel confident enough to shoot on the move. The USPSA safety class was finally held on a different day than Falling Plate (which I couldn't bring myself to skip) so I took the class and shot my first match with my stock Taurus 24/7, one double mag pouch, and my back pockets - and was totally hooked. I shot a classifier match the following month with my husband's XDm 5.25 with PRP trigger. He hasn't shot "his" gun since. I was classified as D.

I made C class in July - it would have been from my classifier score that month, but I got a letter in the mail saying my Area 1 score bumped me up. I basically continued to shoot falling plate and fun steel and one USPSA match a month until September of that year. I was rear-ended in a car accident that month, which moved three ribs out of place and gave me bad whiplash. I wasn't able to shoot very much for about five months. I still tried and got some shooting in. Around May 2015, I was feeling a bit stronger, and started shooting more matches. In October I made B class.

#pewpew goals