Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Decision Time... Trubor or Czechmate? Opinions Requested!

scottrallye

I'm officially making the move to (as I've read many other open shooters call it) "The Dark Side".

A Little Background:

I've been shooting Limited Major for about 14 months, starting with a Glock 35, and switching to a CZ 75 Tactical Sport back in April. My life can pretty much be defined in two parts: life before my Tactical Sport, and life after my Tactical Sport. I've posted plenty of pics and info in the CZ pic threads, so I won't go into any more detail than saying I've made most of the "upgrades" (you could argue the TS doesn't need any) you can make via the Custom Shop, and some grip/frame modification and Cerakoting. The gun has been phenomenally reliable and shoots soooo good. So naturally, since I have an awesome pistol I love, it's time to buy another.

I had initially planned on shooting Limited for another year, but as this year was wrapping up, I got impatient and decided it would be WAY more fun to just take the plunge. I've put aside just over $3,000 at this point, and I'm ready to make a purchase. I looked at all kinds of options, and I've whittled it down to a Czechmate... or an STI Trubor. I'm probably 90/10 on my choice.

The Czechmate is an obvious choice for me for a LOT of reasons:

• It's built on the exact same gun I'm shooting currently. Aside from learning to pick up the dot and a much different recoil impulse, I would theoretically have a shorter learning curve, and going back and forth from Limited to Open would be easy.
  • All the parts and upgrades I have for my TS (mag extensions, extended safety, etc.) could transfer back and forth between the two guns.
  • It's an awesome value. I wouldn't need to purchase additional mags, etc.
  • My TS is so phenomenally reliable (and I have a lot of working knowledge of the platform) and I can't help but assume the Czechmate would be as well.