Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

SOF...where did it go?

I've seen a lot of talk in the last year or so about the SOF match, and how amazing and great it was, and how 3-gun today is nothing like it used to be. I'm relatively new to this sport, my first major was TXMG in 2012, so my frame of reference is very limited.

I haven't seen the answer anywhere else, so I'll ask it here: why did SOF cease to exist? I'm genuinely curious about what happened to it. Does anyone who was there care to share the story?

3-Gun USED to be a lot more physical. You also did not have a lot of the 'Go-Fast' gear we see today. Shotguns were loaded off side-saddles and out of bandoleers and loop chest rigs, Rifle mags were carried in canvas pouches, Pistol holsters were not as slick as they are today,. The stages were most often 'Scenario' based, there was a narrative to the stage, something had occurred and you were tasked to solve the situation. Maybe a hostage rescue or an attack. You vaulted walls, swung on ropes, shot and crawled under buses, cleared rooms and vehicles. You have to ID your friendly and shoot targets by a 20 second look at a series of photos. Often you had to carry all your gear on the stage, you re-holstered HOT, you transitioned between Pistol and Rifle or shotgun and then back.

Then we started to see the Kydex gear, mag pouched, holsters and shot shell carriers. Some guys learned to grab 4 shells and feed them into the bottom of their SGs, Shotguns went from 18-20" with the tube the same length as the barrel to how long can I make it work. Rifles went from Iron and 1-4 scopes to 1-8s and who bothers with iron as the targets got smaller and smaller.