Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Evolution Of Ipsc Pistols ?

JD45

I have never found anything on the evolution of IPSC pistols in those first 4 or 5 years. I would like to know how pistols changed in the first few years. What was the first year of Unlimited(open) class pistols? Who was the first to use a comp? When did the .38 Super start winning? How about the first race holsters? When did the Weaver stance stop winning matches?

Thanks for any information that you can share.

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I started shooting in '78 and shot a Govt Mod 70 Series with S&W sights and a trigger job...shot it 8 months...then went to same gun with BoMar sights and a trigger job and mag release with a button on it, and Swenson ambi safety...shot it one year...

Saw John Shaw win with a Clark Pin gun and immediately had my smith build one...cone bbl with half profile weight, then changed to full profile weight in 81, then used Devel 8 round mags the same year...then in 82 used a full profile weight with the Keeper System (kind of MagnaPort thru the slide and bbl)..shot it for 1.5 yrs then started using a Para frame, still shooting .45, but high cap..shot it for 8 months then tried shooting a BHP, broke it in 5 months, built another and broke it in 4 months, then built a SS, .38 Super in 84, still with irons and full profile cone weight...then in 85 experimented with Aim Point sight with both Para high cap .45 and then on the Super...Shot a Super with Aim Point till I stopped in mid 86...

That covers my early development stuff...I am sure Patrick and others have more..

first holster was Safariland Chapman Hi Ride then with with Gordon Davis holsters, belt and mag holders, used to take the steel out of them and cut down the opening till just the tension screw was covered, used the California Challenger and others, then tried custom holsters but used Davis till I stopped in 86...