Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bob's Range Diary

GunBugBit

I've been shooting 3 kinds of matches since April 30, 2015. My signature has links to my records for those matches.

Now five months into this, I will start documenting things here.

I keep detailed records of all matches, and I write notes about things I observe and experience. I find those useful to review from time to time. I won't go to that level of detail on the thread.

What I've learned so far with regards to shooting better can be distilled into these basic points:

1. How the gun is held is very important. On this topic, I looked to material from Miculek, Leatham, Enos, Jarrett, and a few others. When I started to get what they say, and apply it in matches, a certain amount of improvement came about.
  2. Stance is important. I will talk about my personal stance more later but for now I'll say it is toward what Max Michel teaches. I haven't attended a class of his, but have read what he teaches, and I think it has helped me.
  3. Economy of movement will be a lifelong study. People have pointed things out to me that I didn't know I was doing. Video-recording my dry fire drills has helped me see where I waste motion. I'll expand my usage of such tools in the future, to include video-recording my match stages, getting more formal coaching, etc.
  4. Snappy movement between targets might be the single easiest thing to do with the biggest impact on stage times. Just don't start to move to the next target before trigger press.
  5. Shortening the time from start signal to first shot didn't require a faster draw (although I do also want a faster draw). I keep working on near-automatic sight alignment as I push my arms out and push my thumb-butts together. I keep my eyes on the spot I'm going to engage as I draw, and the goal is to have aligned sights appear almost without effort on that spot. It's happening more consistently as I drill and employ it in matches.