Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First Highpower Match

Alaskan454

The title says it all, I got a loaner CMP Bushmaster with a nice trigger and good sights to try my hand at Highpower. Got the windage and elevation dialed in this morning and was a bit nervous since I had never shot a rifle past 100 yards before. The AR is quite heavy which helped to keep it steady at the 300yd line. I managed one decent five shot group of 4" at 300 yards shooting prone, the others were scattered up to a foot for the same. I warmed up at 100 yards and everything seemed all too easy until I sat down at the 300yd line, I think I've got a ways to go before I start hitting that x-ring on purpose. Any advice from the iron sight shooters out there? It was the first time I used a sling and shot prone, I think my technique could greatly improve consistency. I didn't get real comfortable with the shooting position until I ran out of ammo. Also, I was using the point of aim sighting method at 100yds but I think a 6 o'clock hold would be more consistent for me at longer distances. I didn't have official NRA targets handy, but the ones I brought were pretty large and I had trouble getting a nice sight picture at 300yds. All in all it was a humbling experience and I'm looking forward to the challenge, luckily the first match is only prone so I don't have to worry about the other shooting positions just yet.

post-60454-0-08902800-1443116053_thumb.p

I took a break from handgunnin' last year to shoot HP. I made Master after a few matches, so here are some thoughts I think are worth mentioning. In no particular order...