Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New reloader: help with crimp die setup

JMPhotog

I am new to reloading and just set up a brand new Hornady LNL for 45 acp. I have the Hornady dies. I watched the videos on their setup and read the manual. The only slight problem I am running into is with the seating and crimping station.

I am using the Hornady die that seats and crimps. I have the die set for my desired 200gr SWC Hi-Tek bullets at 1.250 and it is crimped and passing the chamber check. However, on the downstroke, the bullet seems to stick when exiting the crimp die?? So much that it shakes the press when it releases.

1) Am I crimping it too much?

2) I am using their powder cop die in the extra opening. Since I am not planning on blazing out rounds, instead going at a nice safe pace, would I be better served by removing the powder cop and getting two separate dies to seat and crimp?

I may be planning trying different bullets, but once I find my load (which I think I have it narrowed down to 200gr SWC Hi-Tek on 4.7gr Bullseye) I don't plan on changing anything. But if I do experiment, it seems like the seating/crimp die takes so much tweaking that adjusting it for different bullets will be a pain.

Thanks for your time and thoughts!

A pic of the loaded round would be useful. I'd recommend picking up a standalone Hornady New Dimension seating die and a micrometer stem. You can take the stem out of your current die and use it only for crimping, the seating die will then be easily adjustable.

Is the round getting stuck with only that one round on the press? Otherwise it's usually a round sticking on the powder measure.

Edited by peterthefish

It is only hanging in the crimp station, I tried it with only one round at a time to confirm. It is measuring .471 at the case mouth. I tried posting a pic, but it gave me an error and said I can't because I am a new member.