Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting rid of "warm up" nerves/jitters

PrimaryBruce

I've been shooting for about 8 years now, so certainly not new to shooting at all. No matter what, I get those shaky hands (I guess it's nervousness or maybe just excitement jitters?) until I get through 2-3 mags, which is why I call it warm up jitters. Even if it's just a range trip and not a competition. Anyone else get this? Remedies?

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Had this for years. Adrenalin gets too high and hands start shaking.

I find it quite effective to drink a fresh orange juice and eat some candy/pastry half an hour before I use the gun.

(I have mild hypoglycaemia, so my blood sugar might get too low because of the adrenalin).

Talking to some old shooters they said that in the '80s (when they were competing) it was very common to have some sugar cubes before each match (apparently the blood sugar cycle has the effect of calming the nerves)

I was listening to a podcast (and now I don't remember which one, Ben Stoeger's maybe?) which at some point addressed this issue, the "first stage jitters".

This was an interesting one to me, because I get them at every major match at the first stage, stomach flutters, heart racing, shaky knees, etc. The podcast had a brilliant insight, or at least I thought it was brilliant. What you are experiencing is your body getting into fight or flight mode. Your body is trying to shut off functions not needed for a fight, turning up your heart rate and breathing to get you pumped up and ready for what is coming, blood is being pumped into the muscles, etc: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fight-or-flight_response