Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bedell Custom in Iowa

vettman1

I'm looking for someone that has a Bedell Custom open gun in Iowa. I am seriously considering purchasing one but would like to see, hold and shoot one before I do. I really just don't know if I should have a 5" gun or a 4" gun. I am a green open class shooter and this will be my first 1911 gun.

Even if you don't live in Iowa, please feel free to comment on your Bedell Custom and what you have.

Vett,

I am new to Open as well. I have had my Bedell Shorty in 9mm since October of 04 and I love it. I don't feel qualified to tell you what you need or want but I came to my decision after several searches here on the board and most importantly, Chuck and Dan's advice. Don't be afraid to call/email either of them and ask your questions. In my experience both of them will take all the time you need to explain the pros and cons and get you what you need. They are very concerned with having happy, satisfied, and repeat customers. I talked to both of them extensively and wound up with a gun I am very happy with. As soon as funds stack up Dan will be getting my order for a new limited gun as well. Good luck with your purchase, you won't be disappointed.

Take care, Craig

Craig,

What configuration did you end up getting? How do you like loading 9mm to major? To tell you the truth, it kinda freaks me out a bit. I can't imagine pushing a 124 gr bullet to 1350fps. I reload 9mm now, but not to those speeds. Right now I'm planning on going super comp but could be swayed.

Vett

Think about a 9major. You can always have the chamber reamed out for .38 super. However, you can't go the other way.

Brass is $10/1,000 in 9 vs. $100/1,000 in .38super

I have bought 36,000 pieces of 9mm and plan on NEVER scrounging around on the floor for brass again.

The downside is that you are rather limited to the number of different powders that are available. Some of the better powders won't fit in the case of a 9mm.