Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What kind of cheese? I would suspect that if it has the fuzz variety of mold on it and not the veined type of mold or the mold layer like brie or taleggio, then I would call it bad. At what temp is it being kept? I've um, not really run into this before, even when I was cooking for a living.. and we had some pretty funky smelling cheeses at that restaurant. lol

Vince

If it is a really good cheese, cut the green off and eat it anyway. Of course, be sure to stay near the 'bano' as 300lbGorilla suggested. ( I think that's what he was getting at :D )

From a confirmed disliker of cheese!!!!! :P

dj

Consider that we eat "dead" cheese in this country, a little mold shows some sign of life. Afterall cheese is simply spoiled milk. A little time to ripen is good for it.

"How can anyone govern a nation that has 246 different kinds of cheese?"

Charles de Gaulle

I read in one of my gardening books (seed savers annual harvest edition 2004) that in Italy, records recorded 10 years ago, had 400 different traditional types of cheese and in the last 10 years, that # has dropped to only 200 different traditional types. I wonder how many cheeses Italy has lost since before there were records. 246 in France of the 40's or 50's? I'm thinking Italy has em beat.

Vince

George: That "V" stuff ain't cheese. No way, no how. It is just yellow-orange death in a vacuum pack. My wife, bless her soul, thinks this stuff makes a "good toasted cheese sandwich". Uh...no.

There is no such thing as "American" cheese. That is some processed (say it like a Canadian with a long "oh" sound = "proooo-cessed") cheese food.

Ordering a sandwich at a deli in Vancouver some years back.

“You want cheese on that?“

“Uh, yeah, howsabout some of that American cheese?” (me pointing to it)

“We don’t have any American cheese here!“

“Well, Howsabout some of that light orange stuff there then?” (me still pointing at the same light orange block of “American” cheese)