Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need ear pro advice

matgyver

So I have a set of custom plugs that have a very high NRR I used for USPSA due to ROing next to open comps.

Problem is I was told I was giving shooters late pulls on the skeet field. Well, I pull when I hear it so I figured that I may be not hearing them as well.

I switched to my electronic muffs and bingo...no problem. Unfortunately I can't wear them while shooting and get a good mount on the gun.

So, without breaking the bank on electronic in ear plugs, is there a decent set that aren't the disposable crap that blocks enough to protect but still hear calls?

Hello: I stand closer to the shooter when pulling on the skeet field with my fitted plugs. I can also see how they are flying better as well. There are some good foam, plastic plugs out there you just have to find the ones that fit you. Thanks, Eric

I did find that I was hanging back a bit...like I was ROing on a retreat course! I'm new to the sport and didn't want to crowd the guy.

They have an organized shoot coming up so I'll get a chance to observe...

I think I'll try some of the sure fire plugs. They came up in a search for filtered plugs.

Hello: Another option is what I give kids for ear plugs and that is the flexible swim plugs. They can mold them to their ears and they don't fall out. They also are not hot to wear like muffs or get in the way of the gun stock. They come in bright colors or plan clear. I have not tried the Sure Fire plugs but would like to if I could try the different sizes to see what fits. Thanks, Eric

So, without breaking the bank on electronic in ear plugs, is there a decent set that aren't the disposable crap that blocks enough to protect but still hear calls?

Does anyone have first hand experience of filtered plugs that are not disposables?