Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Will you shoot in the rain?

I have shot probably around 20 matches in the last year and all but 1 of them seems to have been in the rain. Does anyone else shoot in the rain? I shoot because if I don't, I won’t have another chance.

I have been lacquering targets at our club for a few months now. I think NOT having to bag targets because of the rain makes it all worth while. I advertise to others that I seal targets but I haven't seen a noticeable increase in attendance yet. It might take a year before people realize what they are missing.

Ron J

I'll shoot in the rain, mud, sleet, snow, wind and cold as well. The snow was blowing sideways at the January Steel Match here. However, I have found it nearly impossible to paste targets in the rain. Anyone had any luck with the little rain hats from the Front Sight article last year?

Mississippi Classic 2004!

Shooters needed a "watcher" to see where their magazines dropped in the water or they were lost.

The Mississippi boys laquered the targets and put little hats over the top of them ( as shown in Front Sight ) and they survived the worse weather I have seen.

USPSA is definetely not a fair weather sport. Shoot in the rain as much as possible....practice in it as well if you can.

If you do, next time it rains during a major match you will be prepared and will deal with it easily and will excel against your competition who only shoot when it is sunny.

We shoot in rain, snow, anything, but some of the clubs in our area will cancel due to weather, those pu__ies. Our local match was only shut down once, when all of our help and most of our shooters were away at an area match, in our area btw. I shot Aikidale's steel match when I could barely feel my hands!

My advice, get some good rain gear, at least a goretex coat and footwear, and consider a more sturdy holster if the conditions are real bad.