Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Preferred holster and thumb rest for Limited?

ATLDave

I've been shooting USPSA with a Tanfo Match for about 2 years and using a bladetech holster for it. I finally decided that a gun with a magwell (and a little extra weight and a non-POS adjustable sight) would be cool to have, so now I've got a Limited that I'm setting up. My old holster won't work, so I'm in the market for a new one. And I'm inclined to try out a thumb rest, too, since the gun already has those little holes drilled in the side, which means a more open/race-style holster.

So, what's your thinking about the best holster for square-guard Tanfos? And what, if any, thumb rest do you like?

BeerBaron,

I'm inclined to know what your idea of the function is regarding the DAA.

I'm in the same baot and leaning towards a magnetic DAA, lot of people run them here and i have not heard any beefs about them (the old style i did however)

They are quite different in how they work. The DAA is a simple hook on a sliding wedge that as it slides down the hook protrudes into the trigger guard to secure the pistol against the block on the other side of the trigger guard.

The manny has a ball which is spring assisted. It also has 2 magnets in rollers that keep the bottom of the dust cover against the holster the rollers help a smooth draw too (though they can leave light marks on the frame). The spring assist of the ball also makes the draw feel a bit lighter/smoother. The locking lever when locked barely sticks out so no chance of snagging it on something. But if you want to draw with the lock it can be left at the 90 degree position.

The new DAA magnetic inserts seem to have improved the fit against tanfo trigger guards so they are nice now too (I have both old a new inserts).

Looks wise DAA wins. Functionally I rate the manny better. I find I use the manny most.

Tanks BB!