Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tactile and Audible Reset -How Important

Dr.J

I'm new to USPA shooting and wasn't sure where to post this question, so if it belongs in another section of the forum please let me know. I'm thinking about purchasing my first gun for this type of shooting, I've been a bullseye shooter up to this time. I'm looking at the S&W M&P Core 9L without porting, however both guns I've handled have not had what I would consider either an audible or tactile reset. How important, or is it important, to have a reset that you can hear or feel? Thanks, Dr.J

exactly. our sport is about speed. Waiting to hear or feel something is slow .... very slow. The only feedback you'll ever want to learn how to accomplish is calling your shots & that is visual so it happens at teh speed of light ... BTW, just go buy a CZ SP01 Shadow and you'll be GTO ...

Well, I don't know how others mastered the different trigger pulls, but when I was learning, being able to feel the trigger reset was paramount. After I mastered the trigger, I not longer felt the reset . . . or paid any attention to it, I should say. Now, I just know it without thinking about it.

Ben Stoeger does a good job of explaining the different trigger pulls, in his book. It sure helped me understand, and master, my trigger.

Dr. J,..after shooting bullseye, you have probably forgotten more about trigger discipline than most action type shooter will ever learn. I am going to give you the best advice I know...........

1. look up Bill Drills and shoot the piss out of them until you are seeing everything and your six shot group is all in the A zone at 7 yards. You can not do this drill enough. It will teach you everything you need to know including grip, stance, trigger pull, learning not to blink, flinch and and seeing what needs to be seen. With the gun holstered from the buzzer at 7 yards you should strive to push your times toward 2 seconds all A's. This is Master territory.