Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which CZ for IDPA?

hlpressley

Looking for some direction as to which CZ you all would recommend for IDPA. I have looked at many websites and searched many hours and to be honest I am almost as confused now than before I started. :goof: There seems to be so many options! I have very little experience with the CZ platform outside of shooting a few stock guns. With that said, which would you guys recommend? Should I pick up a new stock gun and send it in to CZC, CGW, AA etc? Or, just buy one already done up from one of the aforementioned mentioned shops? Which shop would you all recommend?

Oak Hill Guns seems to have good pricing on the SP-01 Shadow..

http://oakhillguns.com/pistol/cz-usa/cz-75-sp-01-shadow-9mm-custom.html

Is this what I should be looking at or one of the higher end Shadows in the $1300+ price range from CZC?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by hlpressley

Below is a write up I did for a CGW SP-01 Tactical. My recommendation is to spend more money on getting better by buying ammo. That stock Shadow with a couple of low cost upgrades like changing out springs will go a long way. kneelingatlas, who puts together a great thread on how to tune you CZ, he posts a link in my thread, says his favorite DA/SA hammer is the stock Shadow hammer. The 75 pre-B or CGW Type 1 disconnectors are "drop in" and are good additions. My CGW SP-01 Tactical with all the goodies was around $1150 shipped. You can't go wrong with a stock Shadow and some DIY. The Shadow is very easy to work on.

http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=214500&hl=%2Bsp%26amp%3B%23820801+%2Btactical#entry2390427

Edited by brisix

Don't know a lot about IDPA pistol rules, but you did not mention what division or divisions in which you wish to complete.