Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What to do about mover in Open

RippinSVT

Guys, I recently got an older (2001-ish) Open gun equipped with a Piatt shroud/wings and Tasco Propoint Plus. This setup does not provide for any built-in lead on the Mover. While it would be easiest to just buy a Protocol Designs StickShift setup (saw them at the Cup, very nice stuff), I am set on keeping the gun setup as-is minus possibly the optic. This gun once belonged to a very special Bianchi shooter who has now passed on, so I'd like to keep it fairly intact.

So who even sells a Mover dot anymore? I can't find a Gilmore or Pride/Fowler anywhere online. I half entertained making my own knob for the Tasco as a side-project. I like the looks of the Ultradot Matchdot II, but can't find any AP-specific details about them from the manufacturer.

I'm pretty new to AP, so this highly-specialized stuff that apparently nobody sells is eluding me. Thanks, Kyle

About the only option you leave open is to buy a used Gilmore with the mover lead in it as a knob adjustment. There are plenty of them around, just not in use anymore. I'd bet someone on here has one they'd be willing to sell at a reasonable price for your needs to keep the appearance of your gun as is.

Alan~^~

Buy a stickshift (regular one, not the shroud with built in stickshift). Mill the rail off the shroud and bolt on the stickshift. Then put on an Aimpoint or Matchdot or dot of your choice.

Thats how most of them are set up, either with the Piatt, or Gilmore shroud with the rail milled off and stickshift.

Edited by DWFAN

Thanks a lot guys, I just got off the phone with Kelly. I wasn't sure if they still made them since their website is down, but indeed they do. I'll be ordering one shortly.