Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Target Sticks

At a club match this past weekend a shooter received a procedural for shooting a steel plate from between the target sticks of a paper target. The procedural was backed up by the MD. I have attached an image that gives a simplified example of the shooter's view and shooting location. (Sorry, I'm not very good with SketchUp, but I wanted to include a visual aid to help explain the situation I am trying to describe).

As far as I know target sticks are clearly outlined in rule 9.1.7 (Target sticks are neither Hard Cover nor Soft Cover. Shots which have passed wholly or partially through target sticks and which hit a paper or metal target will count for score or penalty, as the case may be.). To me this means the RO and MD were in the wrong. Am I missing something? post-55941-0-67136200-1433795967_thumb.p

post-55941-0-34159300-1433796608_thumb.p

I would say you aren't wrong. Target sticks basically don't exist, scoring-wise. Also, there's nothing in the rule book to say you can't shoot between target sticks, or around them or over them, or close enough to give them goose bumps, or whatever.

The thing you can't do is shoot a full-diameter hit through a paper target and then take credit for knocking down a steel - unless the hit on paper was a partial diameter, which makes it count on both the paper and the steel.

If the stage designer wanted to keep you away from the steel while the paper was visible, s/he should have designed the stage so the targets were separated by more space or by barriers.

I'd say the penalty calls were incorrect.

Edited by teros135