Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The "I can't be competitive ... " Fallacy

Nimitz

Since I'm still unable to shoot I find myself thinking about a lot of the things I see posted on-line. One of my favorites is what I call the fallacy of being competitive. The typical post goes something like this: " I've been shooting XXX division for a while and now I'm planning to switch to YYY division but I'm worried that I won't be competitive ---- currently my setup is from Billy Bob's Gun & Magic Emporium so I'm thinking about having a gun built by Mike's Alien Tech Super Blaster Shop and paying 4 months of my annual salary (I'm a cashier at McDonald's). I feel it's worth it so that I'll be competitive ... BTW, I've been shooting USPSA for 7 years and am currently at 51% C class shooter ... what do you all think?"

It's amazing to me the number of people who have never won a local match, never mind placed in the top 10 at a level II or III match but are still concerned somehow about being 'competitive' when they are going to make a change when clearly they are not now, nor have they ever been competitive. And yes, we can debate the definition of competitive all day but I believe the way most use it it means being a legitimate contender for the win or top 3 or so.

obviously, some folks are just using it to rationalize buying new stuff which is fine but why not just admit what you are doing? I have more money then God and I'm going to buy a new blaster because I can .... nothing wrong with that.

Why do so many people feel the need to use the fallacy of being competitive ...

Edited by Nimitz

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not "competitive".....but I still like new stuff. I don't justify it thinking it will make me better. I want it because it will be fun.

Example, I bought a .50. Quite a bit ago. For no reason other to dust cinder blocks at 1000 yards. Did it make m e a sniper? Nope.