Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading .40 questions (Acme HiTek bullet)

Meyer23

I'm fairly new to the reloading scene and I'm starting to reload .40. I have everything in order for the rounds (as far as my dies, the numbers are all right), but I'm having a couple concerns/questions regarding these Acme HiTek coated bullets.

I'm at 1.130 OAL and my crimp is right at ,422-.421. First and foremost, when trying to pull the bullet to check the crimp, I can't get it out. The bullet puller does nothing and when I try and use a vice and pliers, I just crush the bullet as seen on the left.

My main question is should I be dialing back the crimp on that to compensate for the bullet? The bullet is measuring at .401-.402.

My other concern is for some reason to me, that bullet looks like it's way to far down in that case causing the crimp to crimp just a hair over the datum line on the bullet kind of securing it in there which makes me think is why I can't get it out. If that was the case, does that really effect anything?

Thanks guys.

post-58593-0-78743600-1431615957_thumb.j

post-58593-0-28600700-1431615966_thumb.j

At 1.130 you are not too short although the minimum should be at least 1.135. These bullets are designed with a minimum ogive so that you don't have to load short to make them work in guns with minimal leads ahead of the chamber but you still have plenty of bearing surface exposed at 1.130. A kinetic bullet puller will get them out if you whack it hard enough. All you want to do is straighten out the flare so a razor blade or straight edge placed next to the case will tell you much more than any measurement you might take to see if you straightened the case or are crimping into the bullet which you don't want to do. Looks like you are close so just check the case and watch for light under the straight edge, it will tell you all you need to know on a straight wall case such as you are working with.