Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sheild trigger upgrade help!

jbultman

Looking to upgrade my trigger for my shield 9mm. I've had it about a year. Shot 1570 rounds through it. I started shooting idpa with my G19 then progressed into a G34 and uspsa production.

Now with that being said my shield is my primary carry in the summer with my G19 in the winter.

Because of the competition (or lack there of) at a local idpa club and my winning by a min of 30 seconds almost every time. I've decided to switch to shooting my shield at this particular club. I'm not going to stop going because I love the people, that's where I got my start...my shield is going to be my for fun idpa gun and carry gun. Keeping my G34 for competitions. I want to upgrade the trigger where I like it and like shooting it, right now I feel proficient but not 100% comfortable with it.

I'm looking at 2 apex kits. Which one would you choose? I've been going back and forth between the two for a little while. Deciding to now pull the trigger.

https://store.apextactical.com/WebDirect/Products/Details/191855

--or--

https://store.apextactical.com/WebDirect/Products/Details/191833

Thanks in advance!

It all depends if you like the feel of the trigger itself on the gun you have. Break wise, it will feel the same. It all depends if you like the glock style trigger or the smith and Wesson style as they both feel a little different when you pull them.

The Action and Trigger kit is much better in my opinion, but that is mostly because I dislike the hinged M&P trigger as I feel it provides too much built in "mushiness".

The combined kit feels quite good, though nowhere near competition lightness so it still makes for a great carry trigger.

You could of course go for the action kit only and see how it works for you, and add the trigger later if you decide you would like further improvement.

Edited by Domineaux