Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

C-More Dot size

JimF38sup

I have been shooting open for over 20 years. Mostly with a custom STI 9x25 Dillon. Several years ago I switched to a 6 dot. Last year I purchased a new Grand Master which came with a 8 dot. I am thinking about changing again.

Anyone use or tried a 4?

I only shoot USPSA no steel.

Comments on how the size affects times? Accuracy?

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There is a GM at my club that was swearing by the 4 and even the 2 MOA dots. I run a 6 in all of my USPSA guns and like it but I'm thinking about switching to a 4 to see how I like that one.

I went from 8 to 6. When I asked about going to a 4 those who had tried it said it washes out too easily when the sun is in the wrong place at the wrong time.

I use a 4 on my gun and i love it used to have a 6 but my gunsmith ( who also is one of the top shooters in my county) advised me to try a 4 .

Must say that most of the ranges here are indoors .

Ya once you start going below a 6 you can Definately have sun issues where it washes out in the sun on a bright day especially if the battery is a touch weak. A 6 may washout as well if the sun is real bad and at a bad position. I have not had issues with an 8 washing out

Started with 6 MOA. went to 4 MOA, back to 6 MOA and now shoot 8 MOA. 4 MOA and sometimes 6MOA will wash out in bright sun or early morning sun in winter. I think bigger is faster to get on target, YMMV.

Bottom line is what works for you on the timer/at a match. Changing size usually works as the "trick of the day" for awhile and keeps your intensity up and is worth experimenting with.

used a 2 last week and didn't seem to make alot of difference BUT the gun wasn't running either so I was paying more attention to that than the dot

tried to reserect my old single stack 38 super open gun from the 80's with a slide mounted dot