Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

A funny thing happened at my first real 3 Gun

Wild Gene

When I started shooting sports (cowboy action, USPSA and now 3 Gun) my mind was always thinking "What's next, what's next".

Next it became "Hit the targets, hit the targets".

I went from that point to picking spots and shooting positions, my stage plan.

Later it became "move and shoot, move and shoot, 3 things all the time".

As I've progressed, the conscious thoughts have started to fade, until the buzzer goes off and the stage just happens.

But something new has popped into the progression (or is it a regression). At my first real 3 gun match, I noticed that I was complementing myself in the back of my mind. As I was automatically moving from position to position and/or gun to gun and target to target, I was actually complementing myself of a prior reload, string of fire or shot.... A missed position, bad shot or bumbled task never entered my mind, but I do remember thinking things like "that was a great quad load" or "man, I smoked those". Those functions just happened, and negativity never entered my mind, I had full focus every time I pulled the trigger, yet sometime in there my mind was complementing myself.....

Weird....

Anyone else ever have this happen?

I'm not sure it's a good thing.

wg

Not sure if that is a good thing while you are still actively shooting as that is taking concentration away from you. If it helps motivate you during the stage, I guess maybe it can be helpful, but I would think you should just move forward and reassess after the stage is complete and then re-evaluate yourself. Thinking about how good your quad load was may force you into screwing up another quad load in the same stage (hypothetically).

Reminds me of the Stuart Smalley skits from SNL "because I'm good enough, smart enough, and gosh darn it people like me..."