Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm 147gr X-Treme light recoil loads

Glen9010

I have been reading a huge amount on light recoil 9mm loads. Most suggested 147gr. I have xtreme 147gr RN. The powders I can choose from are Power Pistol, Silhouette, Bullseye, CFE Pistol, Unique, Titegroup and 231. I have found some suggested loads but many are for lead bullets and the OAL ranges from 1.100" to 1.165". I am confident in making sure I don't over charge but my questions come in on OAL.

Does anyone have some suggested loads with OAL that I can start from? A lot of load data is done with a Hornady XTP which in a HP and I don't know how that data would translate to a Plated RN.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I am fairly new to reloading so I would rather be cautious and careful. I have figured out some nice loads for my .40 S&W but that was a lot easier than this 147gr 9mm stuff.

Thanks again

Glen

• Replies 111
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I dont have the exact answer you are asking but its related none the less.

I load up coated lead 147s (blue bullets) with ~3.6gr of WST. The load is light and the brass dribbles out of my G19. Super soft to shoot.

Based on my reading and other's experiences as well as my own, charge weights in WST are very similar to charges listed for 231/HP38.

I have used 3.0 grains of titegroup with both bayou 147gr flat nose and 147gr round nose RMR thick plated bullets. COAL @ 1.115 - 1.120. Both loads averaged right around 905 fps out of my Glock 34.

Thanks for the quick replies. I have several Sig 226's and a 2022. Have read Titegroup is well liked but can be sensitive to powder weight. Not much difference between min load and max load. typically .5gr. I suppose I have a lot of options. As long as I don't go too light and stay clear of max, should be good to check for function and then consistency.

Any others?