Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Nova/SuperNova loading technique question

igofast

Looking for some guidance. I started shooting Heavy Metal this year and am running a SuperNova with an 11 round tube.

I've run into an issue now twice where I need to load from a hammer down condition and having difficulty as the gun 'unlocks' just enough for the bolt to interfere with the carrier and won't allow shells to be loaded. I'm attempting to dual or quad load from the strong hand with the stock pinned by my head.

Scenario 1: Shoot 9 poppers on the left side - reload(per stage requirements) - shoot 9 poppers on the right side

Scenario 2: Shotgun staged hammer down on an empty chamber loaded to division capacity need to run to gun and engage 10 targets(none overlap enough to get a 2 fer)

For #1 after clearing the left side and fumbling for a bit trying to keep the action closed I ended up cycling the gun(empty), loading, and then cycling again to get a live round in. Obviously not ideal. I've practiced trying to drop one in the chamber and load the other 3 but that is not working for me.

For #2 my plan was to load 2 as I approach the gun, which I was eventually able to do, but lost a few seconds as I thought I had the pump all the way forward but either I didn't or it crept on me.

I've read up on the Arvid grind - which I have no problem doing - but it sounds as though others have run into feeding issues. The gun has been reliable so far so I would prefer not to introduce unnecessary reliability concerns especially if there is a software solution.

Contact Trapr from Redneck Tactical. He posted some pictures of one of his Novas a while back that shows the shell carrier and a slight amount of material removed so it can be loaded slightly out of battery.

For me, scenario 1 would be to keep the bolt open on the last shot, drop one in, close bolt and load two sets of four weakhand.