Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First Post; Need help diagnosing a left shooting problem

rprecision

This is my first post here and I hope I found the right place to work out a truly frustrating problem.

Background: I have been shooting Glock's for 15 years off and on and carrying one for better then 6 years. CCW, practical pistol, IDPA, etc. I currently shoot Glock models 22gen1, 23 gen4, 19gen4, 34gen4, 35gen3. I am right handed, right eye dominant and use a thumbs forward grip. I keep both eyes open using a isosceles stance.

Problem: Every Glock I own shoots left of point of aim. The amount varies by model and range but it's safe to say 4-6" @ 15 yards or so. For years I ha e drifted the rear sight to the right to correct for this. For years I thought this was mostly normal. Some recent drills I started doing really questioned that logic. Particularly shooting on handed strong side only, weak side only shooting. I found my point of impact was right in both instances. This got the gears turning, shooting two handed from some form of rest also brought things back towards normal.

What I have tried: When you drop "glock shoots left" into the Internet the results make your head hurt. I have tried several things trying to work out some improvements. I have tried changing the location of my finger on the trigger, exaggerating grip changes, dry firing, dry firing and dry firing. I have been unable to diagnose what in particular is causing the problem. Worse yet I am consistently screwed up across all the guns. This leads me to believe the problem is absolutely me.

A couple of things I have observed in trying to diagnose this problem.

1. Strong hand only shoots mostly POA / POI.

2. Shooting from a rested position two handed shoots POA/POI. Such as resting on a fence post, hood, etc.

3. Slow fire vs. Rapid fire doesn't seem to change thing's. Perhaps slow is actually slightly worse.