Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking for Drill Suggestion

RickT

My wife and I started shooting Steel Challenge about 4 months ago. Mechanics, including draw, are getting better, but we have a long way to go. My wife is fighting a systematic POI issue as follows: many of her hits (and misses) are low left/left, this on targets that under deliberate fire would be near center hits (e.g., 12" plate at 10 yards). This happens on the first target out of the draw and from subsequent targets. I believe the misses are too systematic to be simply a bad sight picture; my "theory" is that she's squeezing her strong had fingers as she operates the trigger. These are 9mm 1911s with soft loads and here trigger is 3-1/4 lbs with zero creep - a great trigger.

I've suggested (always dangerous ground) that she might not be establishing her grip early enough in the draw (or perhaps tightening her grip in anticipation of recoil??). In any event we're open to any and all suggestions regarding causes and drills!

white wall drill in dry fire and dot drill in live fire ... both can be found in Ben Stoeger's books ...

if you don't solve your trigger control issues first, doing other drills won't really matter. i would spend whatever time is necessary to fix this issue ... most people don't do this because it appears to be boring ... of course, most people never make it beyond B class either ...

Edited by Nimitz

The other thing to watch for for low/left hits is too much finger in the trigger guard. You can can learn to overcome this but you don't have to...just make sure there to watch next time you go practice. Like CZ and B1 said, definitely trigger control...

Here is a drill. Cock the gun. Put a dime on the slide-flat side down. Have her watch the sights and slowly squeeze trigger until it breaks. Sights should not move. Dime should not move. This should be relatively easy for her.

Next repeat the drill, but go faster.