Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Converting Limited from 10mm to .40 S&W

I've got the opportunity to buy a Witness Limited in 10mm for a pretty good price with a few extra mags, but I want to shoot .40 in USPSA Limited.

I've done some searching and it seems as though the only thing needed to convert it from 10mm to .40 S&W is a new barrel?

Can someone confirm this for me?

Would this barrel suit my needs? (http://www.henningshootsguns.com/shop/barrels.html) I'm capable of fitting the barrel, but I've never done it before. Are there any tutorials or guides to get me started in the right direction?

Can I use the 10mm magazines for .40 and will they accept the upgrades to make them 140mm?

Thanks!

Edited by TennJeep1618

swapping barrel and mags is all you need. you could probably still use 10mm tubes, but you would have to load .40 long

Thanks for the confirmation! This will be my only 10mm/.40 firearm, so I don't have a problem loading the rounds long. The more I think about it, I'm even considering just using as-is in 10mm for USPSA and just loading the rounds down to 180ish PF.

Thanks again!

swapping barrel and mags is all you need. you could probably still use 10mm tubes, but you would have to load .40 long

Thanks for the confirmation! This will be my only 10mm/.40 firearm, so I don't have a problem loading the rounds long. The more I think about it, I'm even considering just using as-is in 10mm for USPSA and just loading the rounds down to 180ish PF.

Thanks again!

.40 brass is a lot cheaper then 10mm. just saying ;)

Thanks again!

.40 brass is a lot cheaper then 10mm. just saying ;)

Definitely! But I can buy a lot of 10mm brass for the cost of the barrel. I'll probably start out shooting some 10mm in it to make sure I like it. If I do, then I'll pony up for a .40 barrel.

Might want to buy nickel plated then to help you in the pick up process.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I never even considered that. Thanks for the idea!