Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9major Open Gun Maintaince

mrsig03

Hello,

I'm pretty new to open and USPSA. Started shooting Glock platform but after a couple months all I've been dealing with is different jam issues the last 5 weeks. Worked great for 4 weeks...maybe I just wore out parts?

I sorta gave up and got a older used SVI and plan on shooting it in 9major. I usually average about 600-800 rounds a week, including matches.

My question:

What type of maintaining do I need to do? How often should springs and other parts be replaced? Magazine springs, how often should springs and followers be replaced? Striker pin, do they have a round count life? Etc...any insight will really help or only shoot it sparingly and train on the Glock?

I would love to see this gun run without any issues...since my last 5 matches was fixing my gun at least 4 out of 5 stages. It seems only to work on qualifiers...??

Thank you...Newbie Open Shooter.

After 10,000+ rounds as a 38 super, the only thing that broke on my STI was one of the mounting bolts for the frame mount and the barrel link.

The STI got re-barreled as a 9mm with new recoil spring and mag springs and after 2000+ rounds of 9 major, nothing replaced yet.

Mag springs need replacing when you notice they are soft or you start getting feed jams.

Recoil and hammer spring say every 10k

Firing pin is fine till it breaks or gets bent.

Firing pin spring ever 10k

Hammer and sear wear eventually

Keep an eye on the barrel link.

Given you shoot 800 rounds a week I'd suggest you need to field strip and clean once a week and maybe even relube at the 400 round mark (just a couple drops on the rails basically).

No reason why it won't be very reliable.