Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sear Spring question

ArrDave

I'm no gunsmith, as evidenced by the title of this thread, but I'm looking at lightening the factory pull of my new E Series. Yes, I could go pay a gunsmith for a good trigger job but am excited about the prospect of doing some of this myself as I'm new to the 1911 platform and have not had either gun apart entirely yet. I've watched the videos in detail stripping and I am confident that I am capable of at least getting them apart and put back together. So the question: I'm thinking about one of these Cylinder & Slide Sear Springs and a lightened mainspring (19# to match my Dan Wesson Valor which comes stock with a 19# MS).

Is this something I can do as a hobbyist or better to just let my gunsmith take care of it?

Can you good folks point me to "the best" resources on educating myself on this?

If you’re knowledgeable enough to remove and re-install the grip safety to access the sear spring, then go for it.

I recently installed the C&S 4 lb trigger pull set http://www.cylinder-slide.com/index.php?app=ccp0&ns=prodshow&ref=CS0212, which includes the lightened sear spring, on a Rock Island Armory GI model 45. The install was fairly easy and I didn’t need to adjust the sear spring.

If you install your sear spring improperly, the hammer might not stay cocked or you might not be able to engage your thumb safety. So even though you might be able to install the sear spring without removing the grip safety, I’d recommend removing the grip safety to make sure you get everything lined up properly.

If you do mess up, then it’s easy to remove the sear spring with the grip safety still installed and try it again.

the key KEY key thing here, if you futz around with it yourself is to test it, do a full functions test first after working on it, and then put it through the wringer during live fire; expecting the darn thing to do full auto if you didnt get it right. So only load one or a couple rounds at a time.