Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need Help With The Bill Drill

ardo

I've been practicing Bill Drill in live fire regularly for a few months now. One thing I notice is that when I'm trying to push my splits below .20s my shots start creeping high. I am concentrating on a really strong (for me) weak hand grip, and it does help with tighter group sizes at slower (0.22s) split times, but when I push into 0.18s the shots end up walking higher and higher. I feel like I'm letting the sights return and am calling every shot, but the results say otherwise.

I suspect that my stance (not leaning forward far enough) may be the problem. I'm seriously considering taping myself to see what's going on.

Any help would be appreciated.

I believe its probably breaking the next shots before the gun has fully returned from recoil in the quest to be faster. For me, when I concentrate on being smooth and having a consistent rythm the speed ends up improving with time. When I focus solely on being fast and feeling like I am pushing it, I end up with missed shots, very often high when on the same target.

May be different for you, but maybe try concentrating on being smooth with an even rythm. I visualize a metronome. Never wavering smooth rythm.

yep, you are not waiting for the FS to return fully into the notch before breaking the next shot ....

while videoing yourself is always enlightening to see what you are doing it won't help with this issue ... now if you have a POV camera co-witnessed to your sights you'd see exactly what the problem was ...

Thanks, Nimitz. I do have a tiny cam that I rigged with a baseball cap mount, but that's hardly co-witnessing with my sights. It does capture the slide and its movement, but that's about it. Maybe mount it to the right temple of my glasses? I'll have to experiment, thanks for the idea.