Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Making Mistakes


mgriffen

Recommended Posts

So a couple of guys showed up late to our local "Twilight" match last night and I was SO'ing on stage 2. The long and short of it is that I let the first guy run the CoF with his eye protection still on his hat and not on his face. He gets a PE for it and I just feel like an ass! I feel like I should be the one to get the PE and not him. Shouldn't there be some kind of penalty for SO's that screw up like this?? I apologized to him and shook his hand. Said I'm glad he still has both his eyes... But I can't stop thinking about it...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Did you notice during his run? Or after he finished? Not sure what the rule is in IDPA. But it doesn't seem like a good idea to let someone continue and just give them a PE for something like that. I think in USPSA you stop the shooter and give them a reshoot. But I could be wrong on that, I'm still learning all the rules.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As an SO, it's your responsibility to stop the shooter when safety gear isn't in place. As a shooter the same standard applies.

2.14 The SO will stop a shooter that has started a CoF and is not wearing proper eye or ear protection, and a reshoot will be given to the shooter. If the shooter’s eye or hearing protection becomes dislodged during a CoF, the same action applies. If the shooter discovers missing or dislodged eye or hearing protection before the SO and stops, the shooter will also be given a reshoot. A shooter who intentionally loses or dislodges eye and/or ear protection during a CoF will be Disqualified.

There's no PE for the mutual screw up of SO and shooter.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah, I didn't notice until after it was over. The MD came over and said the shooter was to receive a PE and I just need to pay more attention. Now that I see the actual ruling I am going to bring it up at the Sunday match. As an SO I should already know that. I guess in the heat of the moment the specifics of the rule book like to leave the brain...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I agree: no PE. And a reshoot if noticed during the course of fire by either the shooter or the SO.

Question, though: If the shooter completed the course of fire with no eye protection, and it was only discovered/noticed after the range had been called clear, is that a reshoot?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I had the same exact thing happen to a shooter last month. Before we scored I gave him the option of a reshoot. Not knowing his time or score, he opted for the reshoot. Bad choice on his part. :D

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...