Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

plunk test / OAL

MnMIke

I'm a newbie to reloading and this puzzles me. My dad gave me a barrel of Red Dot (#12) that he has had for a long time. My load is from the 2005 Alliant manual. 115gn bullet, max powder 4.5 with and OAL 1.120. I started out low and 4.0 seems to cycle and shoot just fine. If i shoot factory ammo and the OAL is 1.150 then why is my load by Alliant 1.120 different? why if it were .125 or .130 or even .014. any help would be helpful. by the way I like shooting steel and just plinking. And oh yes I know how luck I am to have that much powder even if it is not the best for handgun use.

The loads you see in the manuals with the OAL listed is what they work up and deem to be safe for that particular set of components. Most pistols I've shot require or really like a long OAL so most of us that reload, take it out longer than what most manuals list. Also, the OAL length will depend on the type of bullet you have. Some will be shorter due to their design. For example, when I load up my Montana Gold (MG) 95 grain JHP bullets, my OAL is 1.070. When I load up my MG 124 JHP, I go about 1.150-1.160. When I load up my MG 124 CMJ, I go out to 1.170-1.180. Remember a shorter OAL also increases pressure as you increase powder and this tends to spike differently in shorter vs longer OALs.

The other big factor is the longest OAL that will fit in your chamber AND your mags. These have to be tested by using the "plunk" test for the chamber (search "plunk", you'll get lots of hits) and then load up your mags and make sure they are not rubbing the front.

Then you just have to make sure they are chambering/loading reliably and you are on your way.

I just "found" a pound of Red Dot that I've had kicking

around since the early 60's (1960's) ...

Just loaded up some soft plinking rounds for my 9mm

(around PF 100), and had a Ball with my FREE gun

powder in my KelTec P11. Very soft.