Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My limited 10 fun

Nickb45

I started shooting competitively almost a year ago, right away I knew I was going to get hooked. When I started I had always just shot paper, standing in one spot... and I wasn't that great at that. I've been shooting a bobtailed commander length 1911 (my everyday carry pistol). My first match was a steel challenge match This was my first time transitioning targets and shooting with a timer. My first USPSA match was a few weeks after.

All last summer I didn't have any guided training, I wasn't on this forum, I didn't know about dry fire and never ran repeatable drills to work on skills and keep track of where I am.

My initial classification in Lim10 was a C.

After that a few shooters recommended Ben Stoeger's 15 minute dry fire drills, I worked on those when I could find time, it seemed I would get a couple of nights of dry fire then a couple of weeks off.

Around Christmas time I got all three of Bens books, since then I have read through Practical Pistol a few times and have been working out the dry fire book. One goal I set was to get at least 10 hours a month of good dry fire practice. I fell into the same routine of a few nights on then a week or so off.

I have only had a chance to get live fire practice a few times since getting his books, so I haven't ran too many drills. Lately my live fire consists of a Steel Challenge match and a USPSA match each month.

Over the last couple of weeks I have had a lot of free time for dry fire, I have been doing about an hour (or until I get bored) of drills, then setting up different mini stages throughout my house.

Today was the first time I really felt efficient at a match, all of my skills felt natural, I wasn't thinking about "doing it right". I got the stage programmed in and stuck to the program.