Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Metering Extruded Powders on a Dillon XL650

mgerencs

I've been reloading ammunition for 35 years starting with a single stage RCBS rockchucker. I loaded pistol, revolver and rifle with this press and weighed every load and the system worked well. Well, since that time I've developed a liking for the AR style rifles and purchased a few and built a few in 5.56x45, 7.62x51 and most recently .300 AAC blackout. All I've used so far are spherical powders.

My interest lies with the .308 and from what I've read hear I need to try Varget and either of the 4895's. I still use the rockchucker to resize all my brass but have upgraded to a Dillon XL650 a few years ago for the reloading and love it. Never having tried any extruded powders in the progressive machine I wonder which extruded powders meter reasonably well for volume loading on this press. It seems 4064 is one I should stay away from but varget and 4895 are a go? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I've been reloading ammunition for 35 years starting with a single stage RCBS rockchucker. I loaded pistol, revolver and rifle with this press and weighed every load and the system worked well. Well, since that time I've developed a liking for the AR style rifles and purchased a few and built a few in 5.56x45, 7.62x51 and most recently .300 AAC blackout. All I've used so far are spherical powders.

My interest lies with the .308 and from what I've read hear I need to try Varget and either of the 4895's. I still use the rockchucker to resize all my brass but have upgraded to a Dillon XL650 a few years ago for the reloading and love it. Never having tried any extruded powders in the progressive machine I wonder which extruded powders meter reasonably well for volume loading on this press. It seems 4064 is one I should stay away from but varget and 4895 are a go? Any input would be greatly appreciated.