Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Gamer Load needed 135gr or 160gr?

bobapunk

So I have been shooting 125gr Bullets from SNS for a few years. I am just about out of my cache, and looking for something new.

One thing I am looking for is subsonic, so I need to move to a heavier bullet. 135gr was recommended to me, but I just today came across a recommendations for 160/165gr...

I have been using Solo1000 for the 125s (~4.4-4.5gr) and I have a bit of Solo left, but I am not opposed to changing powders (assuming I can find powder to buy...)

what are the practical differences between 135gr and 160gr sub-sonic loads? Which would you prefer for USPSA shooting? Why?

Any "magical" loads recipes?

Thanks!

If you do a search you will find a lot of loading info in 160's. I've loaded both 147s and 160s with solo and like them both. Right now I'm running 3.5gr of solo under a 147gr Bayou bullet. When the weather gets nicer I'll work up a 160gr/solo load for my P-09.

I have posted my load data with many others in the thread about 9mm 165 grain bullets. I like them as the recoil is very light and you can save powder if you are having a hard time finding it. But if you have a hard time getting bullets I would suggest buying in bulk because finding 165 gain bullets local is pretty rare ( at least around me). The recoil is noticeably different from 147s almost as much as the difference between 124s and 147. Buy a 500 box give them a try.

I shoot them in my Glocks and don't have any problems. Just make sure you have the recoil spring to match your ammo and you will be just fine.

Well, that is an issue with the FNS, I have not seen any aftermarket recoil springs with different spring rates...

I think I will just go with the 135s since they are only 10gr heavier than what I have been using.