Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ben Stoeger Class Question

cjdaniel78

I signed up for the Fundamentals class on May 12-13, immediately followed by the Skills and Drills class on May 14. I am now thinking that doing the classes back to back may be too much to take in and remember.

I am new to USPSA shooting, but not new to guns. I have shot some IDPA and some outlaw matches as well as dry fire religiously. Am I over thinking or should I take some time after the Fundamentals class to digest the info before moving on?

Has anyone taken both classes? Back to back?

Thanks.

I have not taken this set of classes, but I have taken 4 days of classes back to back. If you are a good note taker I say go for it. During each break write down what you had "ah ha" moments of and as well during lunch and the end of the day. I've also asked instructors to give me an outline of what they teach before or after the class and this is also a good template for me to organize my own thoughts aftwards.

I have not taken this set of classes, but I have taken 4 days of classes back to back. If you are a good note taker I say go for it. During each break write down what you had "ah ha" moments of and as well during lunch and the end of the day. I've also asked instructors to give me an outline of what they teach before or after the class and this is also a good template for me to organize my own thoughts aftwards.

+1

If you are taking effective notes during the classes it really does not matter how much content is covered in consecutive days of training. If you go into the class expecting that all of your issues are going to be "Fixed" by the end of the class you will be disappointing because you really can't "fix" much in only a few days of training. But what you can do is identify issues and associated solutions to fix them. Then take that info away from the class and put in the hard work AFTER the class to fix your issues.