Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Any reason NOT to roll crimp my Short colt loads

3gunnah

I recently started playing with short Colt loads in my new 627. I have set up the dies so that I am able to use a roll crimp in a Lee Factory Crimp Die. I noticed a lot of guys on here are using 9 millimeter taper crimp. Is there a reason that is done or is it just for convenience. I seem to be having great luck and good accuracy with 3.4 grains of tite group and a Berrys 158. I have not chronographed the load yet but it feels good and extracts well.

My thoughts are all revolver rounds should use roll crimp when fired in a revolver after all a revolver is like a bullet puller that uses inertia to pull the bullet out of the case. Roll crimp is all I have ever used in 38 Short Colt. I am sure others will chime in on why they use taper crimp. :cheers: