Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Starting my first AR build (and DO's and DONT'S)

Darianis

So I went out and got myself set of stripped AR receivers :) Brownell’s had a good sale and well what ya gonna do.

What I'd like to do is build up a decent match rifle for shooting 3 gun. I have some ideas having shot a few matches but it's been a while and I have never built one from parts before. I'd like to have the complete rifle come in at under $1500(not counting the receivers I already have).

With all that being said what is your collective advice on parts selection? What are the pit falls of building an AR that I should avoid?

Thanks for reading and answering.

get the upper receiver squared and trued.

get a good free floated hand guard. Just built an 18" fluted satern barrel with an SLR hand guard

get a good barrel. The stretch barrels look interesting and will likely be my next build

lightweight or reg BC buy a good one.

IF you got a good upper receiver, then you need a good barrel and a good barrel nut/hand guard...everything else is frosting.

Trigger and barrel are what make the gun. Free floating helps as well. Any thing after that is frosting. :)

Fancy doo-dads wont make the gun shoot better, just easier/faster to use.

I'll agree with what has been said thus far and add:

I like the Rock River NM 2 stage LPK's, followed VERY closely by the CMMG's.

If you want something BETTER than this, step up to a dedicated trigger group like the Geissle's (sp?) or CMC.

On the build process for the lower, I have found these videos to be great:

Get the right tools for the job. I use the little crow gun works roll pin pusher when I'm not building on a lower with the trigger guard built in. Quality barrel, BCG, and trigger. Barrel: I'm a fan of Daniel Defense barrels (light weight or not), Trigger: SD3G, and BCG: Youngs manufacturing (light weight or not). Aeroshell 33MS. Right tools for the job.