Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Making the Switch From Striker Fired Guns

d_striker

I've been shooting XDm's for about 4 years now. The triggers in them are really good and weigh in a little under 3lbs. I've grown very accustomed to this weight trigger for every shot.

I'm seriously thinking about making the switch to a Shadow Target but I'm on the fence about the DA trigger pull. I'm not sure if it will be easy to switch to a 6-8lb DA first shot.

For all of you that were previously shooting a striker fired pistol with a decent trigger, how was the transition?

I shot an XDm with the competition PRP trigger in it prior to my CZ. It took a bit of dry firing but the transition was very easy and took less than a month for me to feel 100% confident. When you get your Shadow swap out the hammerspring with the 8.5 lb CGW spring and your DA will easily be sub 4 lbs. Additionally, I try to draw and shoot on a closer target or one with no hard cover or no shoots around it if I can.

I shot an XDm with the competition PRP trigger in it prior to my CZ. It took a bit of dry firing but the transition was very easy and took less than a month for me to feel 100% confident. When you get your Shadow swap out the hammerspring with the 8.5 lb CGW spring and your DA will easily be sub 4 lbs. Additionally, I try to draw and shoot on a closer target or one with no hard cover or no shoots around it if I can.

I think I can handle a 4lb DA pull. Thanks.

Though, I don't like the idea of having to draw to an easier target to compensate for the DA shot.

Edited by d_striker

Just remember that once you go to the 8.5# hammer spring you are now only able to shoot Federal primers. My ACCU was in the 7# range out of the box until I did the swap.

Just remember that once you go to the 8.5# hammer spring you are now only able to shoot Federal primers. My ACCU was in the 7# range out of the box until I did the swap.

Yup, I figured as much. I already only use Federal primers with my XDm's.