Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Opinion Needed:Comparison of 3 possible models of Pro Series for IDPA

frodo9mm

Folks:

I am just getting into IDPA and am comparing 3 different M&P Pro Series models to purchase one as a starter pistol for local IDPA Competition.

I have questions.

The three models are:

1. Model M&P9 Pro Series - 4.25 Barrel, 17+1 Rounds, SKU 178035

2. Model M&P9 Pro Series - 5 Barrel, 17+1 Rounds, SKU 178010

2. M&P9 PERFORMANCE CENTER PORTED - 5" Barrel, 17+1 Rounds, SKU 10098

My questions are:

1. For IDPA, does the 5 inch barrel offer an advantage over the 4.25?

2. How does the recoil and muzzle flip on the M&P9 Pro Series compare to other production pistols like the Glock? I have read the ore axis is close in comparison.

Which would you recommend and what has been your experience?

Thank you,

Frodo9

Edited by frodo9mm

You need to scratch the ported model off your list since ported barrels are not allowed in IDPA. For shooters that had previously shot 1911's the M&P will point more naturally than the Glock. The muzzle flip is about the same between the Glock and M&P, it depends more on you and which one you can get your hands wrapped around the best with the highest hold possible. I personally prefer the 5" model.

Thank you for the IDPA info. I have not shot my 1st match yet and have a Springfield XDM-C 3.8 that I have pondered using. So, I am feeling my though things.

I like the M&P a lot. I may l go watch the next IPDA match and also practice at some of the same distances that the stage is set up at..

I will also rent a 5 M&P at the range if they have one and see how it feels. Someone in the club mentioned I should "buy as much accuracy as I could afford" and then let talent do the rest.

If you don't mind me asking, what is your preferred pistol for IDPA? Thx again, Frodo9.