Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Powder increments lead vs copper

Peplow530

I am new to reloading and trying different recipes for different guns. I just got some BBI 135 and 147 gr 9mm, but can't really seem to find much load data for them. Through comparing the different data I have compiled I was able to figure out a load for the 135 (although I haven't chronographed yet). I only loaded 15 of them to test fire, they ran good other than one stovepipe.

So here is my question, If a certain powder called for 3.5gr for a 147 copper bullet and 4.0gr for a 135 copper bullet, would that .5 charge increase also apply to lead? If 3.0gr was used for a 147 lead, could I assume that 3.5 would be needed for a 135 lead? (These numbers are just used as an example).

Edited by Peplow530

Never assume.

Start at the lowest starting load you can find and work up--this is the safest way.

If you can't find data, use data for the next heaviest bullet--of the same type (lead for lead/plated and jacketed for jacketed).

Load data in a manual is based ONLY on what they got with their gun and their exact lot numbers of components.

Let's take one example: 135gr vs 147gr bullets using 231/HP38 (as a common powder).

Looking at my compilation, I have one load for 135gr lead bullets: 3.5gr start and 4.5gr MAX. For 147gr, I have start loads ranging from 2.2-3.3gr and MAX loads ranging from 3.5-4.0gr. With only one manual referencing a 135gr lead bullet load, I would tend to start with the 147gr start load. I would rather "waste" some components then find my assumed starting load was actually a MAX or over-MAX with my mix of components.

I'm looking for info on 147 gr lead SWC 9mm loaded with CFE Pistol. I guess since CFE is so new there is just not too much info available, I believe they only offer one lead round in their data chart. How on earth do people work up loads for data that isn't out there?

Are they copper jacketed bullets or copper washed/plated bullets?