Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which one should i buy?

jarvis243

So here is were i am at. I am a total beginner with competition shooting. I have shot 1 USPSA match at our local club and gone out a number of times for some steel matches. I have been shooting my XDM 5.25 .40 at those matches. I love my XDM but i really love the way the CZ's feel in my hand. I am trying to sell one of my pistols to fund a CZ purchase. As soon as it sells i am going to order one up. Now here is my question, which one? I really want a TS or a shadow but i can't afford one of those right now. So i am wondering which would be the best choice to get and build on? This will not be the last pistol that i buy.

Do i go with i go with decocker or manual safety? Down the road can i build this pistol to be as good as a shadow or TS? I realize that it is the shooter and not the gun but i want to make a decision that i will give the best option to build on. What are your thoughts and opinions?

Yes and yes? Depends on your preference, if you're primarily shooting production, I personally preferred the decocker versions. You can definitely build on either a 75B, 75 BD, or an sp01 to be as good as a shadow on your own, kneelingatlas' guide is a great start. Pre-B versions would be even better, but as a new shooter, it's six in one hand, half a dozen in another.

Careful, it's a disease. :) I started with a p07 and a year later, I have way too many CZs that I have to hide from my wife. :D

I forgot to add the P-09. should i consider that one? I know for sure at some point i am going to have one but i have a feeling after this next purchase it will be the last for a little while because of education goals coming down the line.